PDA

View Full Version : Build it and they shall come, another kindred spirit looking for a home.

Brian Beaumont AKA Thor
08-20-2010, 07:24 PM
Got this message today and I'm seeing more and more of this. B

Hello there
I just found out there was a 10th planet affiliate in Yuma, and YOU were the instructor. I'm from EL Centro and have been training bjj since 05 on and off self taught by books videos from the 10th planet system, and implying them at a Gracie affiliate school. No longer is that place around.

I then went to another school down here, a joe moreira affiliate school ( ran by a brown belt) and while i was there I realized the students there were pretty NEW to bjj and he wanted to promote me to a blue belt for whatever reason and wanted me to help teach a no gi class. Just when I thought everything was going great for me, then one day I was rolling with one of the students and the instructor yelled at me to stop, that I was twisting the guys neck, All I was doing was clearing the neck from Mission Control. The instructor had no idea really what I was doing but knew it was "some kind of eddie bravo stuff". As he once said after from seeing

me grapple. He then blew up on me and when I say blew up I mean he called me every bad word you can think of and brought up eddie bravo saying I wanted to be him, then he proceeded to bad mouth 10th planet jj. Right there and then I realized this guy doesn't want me after all at his school and secretly hates everything about 10th planet. I got up and left... it was the most surreal experience ever. I still really can't believe that happened.

I now train the gi and no gi over @ Kombat Sports.

However i'm realizing mostly everything I do is from the 10th planet system, and would love a chance to finally go train at a affiliate school. I'm glad there is a school near by. I've seen the facility where you're located and pretty much dig it. Hopefully I can head on down soon.. well thanks for reading.

Brian Beaumont AKA Thor