PDA

View Full Version : Spinal Fusions and Jiu Jitsu

Jon Helton
01-31-2011, 09:12 PM
I had a potential new student contact me about starting classes. He has spinal fusions through his back. Basically, 2 big rods connecting his vertebrae together starting from his shoulders to his lower back. I know this forum has people who know more about this than me. What's the word? Is it possible? Or will it just take him trying out a class and seeing what kind of discomfort he has?

Feedback welcome. Thanks!

James O'Brien II
01-31-2011, 09:38 PM
I have spinal fusion, ankylosingspondylitis, but I have no rods..
I am no expert, but I would assume this character knows his body better than us.
I would stand behind the idea of letting him feel it out.

Good luck!

derrick ikwueme
01-31-2011, 09:54 PM
scary shit, is there no flexibility in his spine ? if so is there risk of major damage when in the many weird jits situations ? perhaps he should only play very lightly, & see a chiropractor first. make sure you have him sign a liability waver. this is tricky shit when dealing with health, I had a 300 plus pound friend with heart & blood pressure problems ask about jiujitsu, & i know it can help him, but were do you start with someone who's never tested there machine ? & fead it nothing but sludge, & if not careful could ''Die On Your Mat'' even from blood chokes, most of us can't comprehend being that out of shape.

Chris Herzog
01-31-2011, 10:09 PM
In cases like this I always require students get a note from their doctor clearing them to do contact sports, also ask your insurance provider.

Clinton lawrence
01-31-2011, 10:12 PM
wouldnt touch it with the rods in his back mate but thats just me

RobSchwartz
01-31-2011, 10:18 PM