Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Array

School
    John Frankl Jiu-Jitsu Competition Team

Effectiveness of lockdown

Hello~ I've been training BJJ for around 9 months and I received my blue belt not long ago.
    Our school usually trains in gi jiu-jitsu but we also train no-gi jiu-jitsu during the summer.
    I was hoping to find a school teaching 10th planet system but it seems that there isn't one here in Korea and the one I found here in Seoul is kinda too faraway from my area cos the gym is right outside Seoul.
    About a few months ago I've been practicing Eddie Bravo's techniques through his DVDs with a friend of mine.
    Nowadays, I don't really have partner to train rubber guard and so on cos people doesn't give a damn about Eddie.
    Anyway~ my question is it seems that whip up and other techniques from half guard are not that effective when used in real competitions or during the rolling session.
    What do you guys think about it?
    I'm not here to critisize about the technique or anything.
    I'm just here to seek everybody's opinion and find ways to improve my way of training.
    So if you have any opinions, please feel free to comment on it!!!

Array

School
    FLMAC/10th planet Ronin
    In my opinion is all about timing and practice, Practice

Array

School
    Ground Dwellers / 10thplanet Ronin
    Jasonic: this video is of my 10 year old daughter using the lockdown after only an hour of practice at home before we went to the gym. As you can see her sparring partner is much bigger than her and she always have trouble with him passing her guard, but this night after we put in an hour of practice before going to the gym....he was having problem breaking her guard. And she even tried the electric chair on him. Of course we need more work on it, but its a great start. Practice it my friend, and use it. If a 10 year old girl can do it, you can do it too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b8MKfy1-iC0