Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Array

School
    www.therockbjj.com

Did you start with 10th Planet or transition from another school?

What made you start with 10th Planet or make the switch?

If you started in gi heavy jiu jitsu, how was the transition?

Reading some threads on other forums and it is amazing to me how in 2014 there is still so much misunderstanding or faulty logic about no-gi jiu jitsu and the supposed necessity of training in the gi to become technical.

-Brendan

Array

School
    10th Planet HQ circa 2006-07
    Rickson Gracie -> Aaron Briley -> me.

Array

School
    10th Planet HQ circa 2006-07
    I should say that Renato Magno gave me my blue belt before I started training with Eddie who gave me my purple.

Array

School
    Lake Effect jiu jitsu
    started in Pedro Sauer affiliate, transition was slow, and it just happened to me, as opposed to me choosing to make it happen. It was so slow that I barely noticed it happened. Not like one day I woke up and said, "I'm going all no-gi starting today". I do remember the video (2005?) that started me using the lockdown in the Gi and started me on the eventual 10p road. Because I was using lockdown in the Gi, the times when the gi was shed became easier and easier for me. P.S. I do wish I could find that vid again!

Array

School
    Eris Martial Arts, Peterborough
    I started with 10th Planet in Peterborough under Stewart Landry and I am 10P4L.
    I have much love and respect for our Gi affiliation as well, but I am in love with Jiu Jitsu because of 10th Planet.

@Kurzinator on Twitter & Instagram

Array

School
    Ronin (10thP Rochester roots)
    Started 10th planet under Coach Herzog.

Sadly, since leaving Rochester, my training has fallen off so bad due to my refusal to wear the gi, limited no gi classes IN THE WHOLE DAMN STATE OF MASS, and work schedule conflicts.