Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Competition advice needed

I intend to start competing this year. I started training jiu jitsu around a year ago and it's the only discipline I have any experience in. I'm 41 now and train twice a week and go to the open mat sessions on a Saturday morning. This involves 1 hour of sparring ten mins rounds starting from stand up and then an hour of ten min rounds from knees. This has given me a good opportunity to spar from standing, most of the time I pull guard. I also go to the gym outside of classes when I can and drill. This feels like a good balance for me at the moment. It's worth mentioning I broke my leg three years ago and have a metal plate, screws and dodgy knee and really didn't think I would be able to take the training this far. We have wrestling classes after jiu jitsu I have considered doing these but have decided for the moment to stay with my regular routine ,train smart, allow good recovery and limit the chances of sustaining an injury. So I want to focus on a couple of takedowns and drill them whenever I get the opportunity to prepare me for competition. Considering the points I made what two takedowns do you think I should concentrate on. I have the support and advice of both instructors but thought I would ask you killers for an opinion.

Array

School
    10th Planet HQ
    Double leg and single leg :-)
    Follow me on Instagram @eddiebravo10p

SUBSCRIBE to my videos youtube.com/twistereddie

Array

School
    Carlson Gracie Miami/10P Miami/Ft. Laud Hotbox remnant
    This ones good =D.

Array

School
    10th Planet Beaumont
    Quote Originally Posted by Eddie Bravo View Post
    Double leg and single leg :-)