Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Retard Control

Array

School
    One Combat Academy

Retard Control

I tried to use the search function first but didn't see anything about this so here goes...
    I've got some people that really balk at the term retard control, myself included. This isn't a big PC crusade or anything, I don't care what anyone else calls it, but the fact is it bothers some people. In my daily life I work as a pediatric therapist and so obviously I have a little sore spot about the term, and some of the guys in my gym have relatives/family members/friends with a disability, so it's just not something I'm really able to use.
    My question is, I've seen others refer to "special ed control", "animal control", etc. Are these separate positions, or are they alternate names for the same position? We've been calling it Animal Control where I train. Do other folks have similar issues with this?
    Granted, there aren't a lot of names that would NEED to be changed in the 10P system, but if we call it something different just within our own gym, how big a deal is that?

Array

School
    10th Planet Jiu Jitsu
    A name is a name. Some people will be purists and not want you to call it something different but the only thing that matters is that if you yell out a technique name then your team mates know what youre talking about. Call it what you want imo.
    #10thplanetFREAKS

Array

School
    10th Planet Glasgow
    Yeah, it's just a name. Personally I have no issue with it, neither does anyone at 10P Glasgow but as long as you are using it correctly, who cares what you call it really

Array

School
    TxState Kajukenbo