Interested in learning Jiu Jitsu - few questions

Hello,

Let me start by saying that I have no experience in martial arts and my body is not flexible.

My questions are:

Would it be wise to join a 10th planet gym as a white belt given that i have no martial arts experience?

Will my flexibility hinder my ability to learn?

I would appreciate any input on my situation

thank you,

Jonathan

Array

School
    10th Planet Rochester
    Quote Originally Posted by jonM View Post
    Hello,

Let me start by saying that I have no experience in martial arts and my body is not flexible.

My questions are:

Would it be wise to join a 10th planet gym as a white belt given that i have no martial arts experience?

Will my flexibility hinder my ability to learn?

I would appreciate any input on my situation

thank you,

Jonathan
    Of course you should join, no experience required!

No, there are only a select few transitions that require an achievable level of flexibility. Your flexibility will come with time just be diligent and consistent with your stretching an you will become more flexible.

Happy Training!
    Check out my instructional website:www.zogipedia.com

Head Coach 10th Planet Jiu Jitsu Rochester www.10thplanetjiujitsurochester.com

Array

School
    Grove City BJJ Academy
    Hey Man, just wanted to give you my advice on this. I just this past week hit my one year anniversary of starting training; I started at 280lbs. with no flexibility, no cardio, and no experience other than getting a yellow stripe on my white belt in TKD when I was like 6. I'm down to 235lbs, I have some pretty decent flexibility for a guy my size and am getting more flexible as I go (Keep the mindset that stretching is training), and I just recently completed a 100 round challenge this past July which was 100 5 minute rounds that had to be completed in 24 hours. That's not even mentioning the new friends that are like family to me.