Array

School
    10th Planet Corona

Anyone here familiar or knowledgable in head trauma?

I've been training and fighting for 4 years, going on 5. For about 4-5 times per week for MMA. I have never been TKO'd or knocked out unconscience in a fight or sparring war, but has anyone here ever played it safe and got their head checked out just to be on the safe side? I don't display any neurological defects, other than the occasional migrain or recurring headache. I'd assume I could start with some sort of MRI or scanning of the brain? I have some really good insurance so why not take advantage.

If you have any experiance with this or know which direction to point me in please chime in.

Thanks fellas,

Hollywood

here is what Dr. George Lundberg wrote in 1984 in the Journal of the American Medical Association: “The fist hits the head, and the skull moves immediately. The brain lags a bit, then it glides and swirls and bumps around. Brain fibers are torn, brain cells die, small blood vessels are torn, and little hemorrhages occur. This repeats itself hundreds and thousands of times.”

if you are concerned at all I would not recommend absorbing continued strikes to the head - it is not worth the risk. some people are more susceptible than others. I recently wrote an article on this topic which i already posted on this forum:

http://thebjjmind.com/2012/09/13/mma...ilty-pleasure/

I know some MMA fighters who have been at it longer than you have and are now showing some signs of neurological dysfunction. It is not like a "normal" injury that heals - that is the sad part. best of luck.

Array

School
    10WO
    I'll come at you with from more of a healthcare professional point of view, as I've been an ICU RN for a few more months than I've been training jitz/mma: speak with your primary care physician about your concerns.