Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

What Techniques are good to watch for a beginner ?

I am really new to Bjj. A friend introduced me to the art. I have fallen in love with it. What Technique videos are good to watch for a beginner ? Or am I jumping the gun on these techniques, being they are advanced, and need to develop a foundation of knowledge that isn't displayed in these technique videos ? Thanks ahead of time.

Array

School
    10th Planet Hamburg/ Ronin
    Well you can buy eddies books and dvds, and marcelo garcias, and ryan halls and lots of others. they are all really good. but finding yourself a moon (affiliate of 10th planet) or a hotbox (smaller version of moon) will be the best way to get your bjj going. practice, put in the time and effort and youll do fine.

what im trying to say is Ive found the technique guides really good and sure always try to learn mroe things but you really wanna perfect the basics. good balance, good flexibility, good base, good squeeze. once you have those things down, youll notice everything gets a lot easier.

practice your submissions that are necessary to your game as well. armbars, RNC, kimura/ americana, guillotine. and then after you have those and you understand the game a lot better then u can start playing with mono control and gangsta lean and getting into the truck a bit more. things like that.

Array

School
    10th Planet Birmingham UK
    Practice shrimping, train your hips, get them moving and work on balance and flexibility too.

Array

School
    10th Planet Winnipeg
    IMO controlling and escaping the deadzones and sub escapes.

If you can mount someone so dominantly they can't move it becomes very easy to submit them.

Array

School
    Next level combat 10th planet St Paul MN