Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Array

School
    Marcelo Garcia Academy, NYC

Unsolicited advice for Cora's dad.

I enjoy watching the Cora videos with my 8 year old daughter, but as a professional photographer, I have some advice. (Excuse me for not minding my own business)

First, kill the music in the videos. While all your viewers are united in their love of BJJ, the music is a divider. I like hip hop, he likes rock, she likes metal, etc. Just run the ambient sound.

Second, and far more important, ask yourself what is the purpose of the next video? You've already established that she is good at BJJ, another video making that same statement does you no real good. Now is the time to develop her as a personality. Have the videos serve as a blog/diary of her life or her training. Have her introduce the videos and tells what was going on in her head and how she feels about the matches. We know what Cora is - a BJJ practitioner, but we don't know WHO she is.

Developing her as a personality on film will open the door for endorsements. Or maybe she's so charming on camera that Eddie features her on a 10th Planet kids DVD. And if she isn't good on camera now, maybe after 6 months of talking on camera, she WILL be. I picture something similar to what Ryon Gracie did in this video

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=nAMwCX6hf7M&feature=plcp

Anyway, that's my unsolicited advice...for what it is worth.

Sam Sales

Awesome advice.

Array

School
    10th Planet Ann Arbor/ Ronin

Link posted was for mobile thought i would just embed it for you.

Array

School
    10TH PLANET GLASGOW!!
    The music doesn't bother me at all but I like the Idea of getting Cora's own personality shown. I'm sure it will help open doors for her in the future! also a life blog would be so cool for her when she's all grown up and can look back at how she made it!

Array

School
    Ronin (10thP Rochester roots)
    Good advice.

Array

School
    Ground Dwellers / 10thplanet Ronin