Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: stretching tips

Array

School
    Star jiu jitsu/ formerly of 10th planet sherman

stretching tips

hey there, im new to the game, been training for a couple of months now at a team alliance school on top of watching and reading 10th planet books and dvds. i have been working on my flexibility in order to improve my rubber guard and have seen some results, but if anyone knows any specific stretches that work really well at improving flexibilty please lent me know.

Array

School
    10th Planet Fort Lauderdale Hotbox!
    Quote Originally Posted by Ryan Cook View Post
    This comes up allllllll the time and the same few videos/books get thrown about, but I have a question. What the hell do you do if you are so inflexible that even attempting to stretch hurts your lower back. I don't think I can actually touch my knees if I keep my legs and back straight. I haven't tried yoga yet... but that's only because I can't afford it.
    Stretch as far as you can, hold it for 30 seconds, rest for 10 seconds, then go back to the same stretch and try to go a little further... never go so far as it hurts but to the point just before that, hold it there, and eventually you will be able to go further and further... it's a progression just like anything else you'd train. I went from not flexible AT ALL to being able to hit double lotus without my hands, etc in 6 months of stretching an hour per day and now my guard flex is excellent. If you dedicate yourself to stretching it is actually quite easy.

Array

School
    10th Planet Springfield MO
    Yoga

Array

School
    10th Pranet HQ Hollywood
    you need to stretch OBSESSIVELY after your training when your super warm and loose

i stretch when i wake up and before i sleep
    (been lazy lately)

i know its bad to stretch when your cold but it didnt do any damage to me

but yeah

be obsessive! stretch like you got somthing to proove lol

Array

School
    10th planet headquarters