Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Array

School
    Adam Ryan MMA/Chekmat Vancouver

Higher level helping out the lower level

Hello all , I am gonna start off saying over the past year or 2 maybe , I have been the on/off , and more off person in BJJ , either from getting lazy , or heath or injury . So basically , I would get into it , learn some stuff , then be off and forget shit , and basically everytime I start again , it is as if its my first class again . So in saying that , I am a beginner .
    So my question is , as a beginner who goes to class , and has to roll with someone in a higher level , and in my case , i feel like i know nothing , so when it comes to rolling , I get caught stalling because I dont know what to do, should that higher level person kind of guide the beginner ??should they help them understand what to do next ? or , should they let that person kinda figure it out on their own on the way ?

Array

School
    10th Planet London / Nottingham
    Personally I think there should be a bit of both. I find that I remember things for much longer when I figure it out on my own. However its always great when the higher level person helps me out, because I never would have thought of what they told me (if that makes sense)

Array

School
    Ronin
    Try to learn concepts.

What helped me most was when I stopped looking for techniques and started to pick up concepts:

Always go for the underhook when in 1/2.
    Always look to isolate an arm when in mount.
    Always look to get under your opponent when sweeping.
    Always take a post out of the game when playing butterfly.

Not only are these applicable to more situations than 'arm bar', but they are harder to forget once you begin using them.

Begin to analyse why you got tapped / smashed in sparring. You will rapidly find that it helps you create / find concepts. Your training partners shouldn't need to talk you through it... it is achievable through reflection/analysis and deep thought.

Array

School