Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Array

School
    The Forge BJJ

I suck at Jiu Jitsu

I've been training for 4 months now. I love it more than anything I've ever done. But damn I suck. I am consistently crushed by everyone. I'm constantly exhausted. I'm always sore. The idea that I will some day be good at this seems like a cruel joke.

Damn... I suck at Jiu Jitsu.

Array

School
    10th Planet Jiu Jitsu
    Keep grinding we've all been there
    #10thplanetFREAKS

Array

School
    Watkins TKD and BJJ Arlington TX
    It's all perspective. Find a friend that doesn't know JJ, roll with him for 5 minutes, you'll see just how much you've changed. My buddies from high school we always played "tap out" usually ended in a guillotine. We had no idea what we were doing lol. Well we still did it whenever we get together for weddings or class reunions, family events etc... I am no longer challenged since I started JJ. I get consistently smashed at my gym, but I'm getting better. It's hard to tell when you're always going against people better than you. Gotta set small goals. When I roll against an instructor my goal is just to keep them in guard as long as possible. When I first started it lasted all of 10 seconds, now I can last 5 minutes and even pass occasionally. Big confidence booster. Perspective brother, keep training and getting smashed!

Array

School
    Non 10thPlanet
    It wont get easier, you are who will get better

Array

School
    10th Planet Beaumont
    I remember my good friend Cade Nelson (also currently a 10th Planet Black Belt) told me he trained for two years before he tapped someone out for the first time. My experience was not quite as bad.... but close, and it was close to that amount before I was tapping people other than first day folks. The struggle is real for the small folks

Array

School
    10th Planet Ronin/JKD Institute