Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Recovery advice

Array

School
    10th Planet Birmingham

Recovery advice

Hello.

I'm a jiu jitsu beginner, just a few weeks worth of training (@10th Planet Birmingham, UK) and I bloody love it. Got a fantastic instructor, good training partners and the realisation that I have so much to learn is pretty damn exciting.

Wondered if any of you vets have some advice on recovery methods? Is it a case of me just needing to toughen up or do you have some pre/post session tips for staying in good shape? Any advice appreciated.

Cheers.

Array

School
    Carlson Gracie Miami/10P Miami/Ft. Laud Hotbox remnant
    Injury prevention > Injury recovery, although you'll need solid game plans for both. Proper warm ups, stretching, knowing which girls/guys who can get you to tap without having to crank the sub 100% vs the people who will crank a joint lock from 0-100% right off the bat is important as well to keep yourself from getting injured. Post session is one of your most important times to get in a good meal/meal replacement within 45 minutes or less after you've finished training. I like having a protein bar/shake RIGHT after a training session while I'm driving home. Good luck, stay healthy. I'm treating jiu jitsu like a marathon, not a sprint, and if I can roll till the day I die, I'll die a happy man.

Array

School
    10th Planet Birmingham
    Thanks, I've been drinking a lot of water after training but not eating much. Good tip.

Still new so unsure of who'll break my shit off, but I'll learn as I go.

Marathon is a good metaphor; there's loads to learn so going full throttle at it isn't the best idea. Did some guard pass sparring yesterday and realised how little I know. I'm tired because I was using all my strength with little technique. Got my back taken by a kid half my size who barely broke a sweat. Amazing eye opener that focussing on technique rather than hulking it will pay dividends.

Array

School