Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Array

School
    10th Planet Chicago/KJJ

My Matches from Check Mate Submission Only 3

Hey guys, back again with more match footage. Yesterday I was part of a 6-man round robin bracket at Check Mate Submission Only 3. (www.checkmatesubmissiononly.com) Its one of my favorite tournament formats and every comp we have a lot of fun.

When I started competing in tournaments my first ones were at 170lb. I then made it down to 155. Last comp I weighed in at 147.8 but was moved into the 165lb bracket. This is my first time truly competing at my proper weight for jiu jitsu. I weighed in at 144lb, well under the 145lb limit.

I want to preface my match footage by saying I was in a Motorcycle accident on Wednesday, only 3 days prior to my matches. I dropped it cornering on some wet leaves and got road rash on my ankle, knee, hip and arm. Although I was advised to sit this one out, I still wanted to see what I could do because I had worked so hard to be ready for competition.

Being said, you can see that I had to modify my entire rubber guard game, i couldn't dogfight or underhook on my strong side, and a lot of my normal game was stifled. I was not able to frame at all in RG because the road rash was on the outside of my arm, exactly where I would be applying the most pressure to post and frame. I honestly just did my best despite my injuries. I am really glad that I did because I got to try and expand my competition game.

Array

School
    10th Planet Chicago/KJJ
    12190157_1682546638698826_431649409_o.jpg
    Heres a pic of the worst of the road rash which was on my arm. Day of accident

Array

School
    10th Planet Chicago/KJJ
    12176058_1682546625365494_800080647_o.jpg
    Heres a pic of the worst of the road rash which was on my arm. Night after comp

Array

School
    10th Planet Chicago/KJJ