Array

School
    10th Planet Boulder

Mastering the System vs Improving my “game”

Hello all this is my first time posting a thread. I have been training for just over 5 months now. I include some caveats below but most of them can be summed up by saying I don’t know shit

I’ve heard that people have their different levels of game as they progress through Jiu Jitsu where your “A” game as a white belt or blue belt will likely be much different when you reach higher belts for a variety of reasons. The mastering the systems and especially the warmups are very daunting for me(although they look awesome and I in no way doubt the credibility of any of it. I have watched over half of the MTS so far, some more than once). I know that mastering the system and improving my game are not mutually exclusive. I am just not sure how to think about this and how to plan my training accordingly. My intuition is to just keep working on my game (I would define this as the techniques/positions that are best suited for my body type/athleticism and most successful at the moment against non white belts) and then somewhere near the 1.5-2 year mark start taking on the white belt warm ups.

An example of my struggle with this that I was discussing with an instructor yesterday was how I have a high percentage of success when I pass guards without leg pummeling and I get leg locked or swept 75%+ of the time when I do attempt to do some type of leg pummeling on a blue belt or higher. Obviously if I don’t train the leg pummeling it will continue to be a weakness. However, I feel like if I just keep working on my other passes I can make them a big strength in my game and that I can do my best to avoid leg pummeling in high intensity rolls/competing.