Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The legs ?

The legs ?

I just recently joined a local(ish) Gracie team after a couple of years just rolling with friends being self taught. That said I've noticed quite a lot while being there. Because we had no concept of injury and no ego we always have done as many leg locks as we can and I've developed almost my entire game around them.now being a lowly white belt they are not allowed, which in itself I can kinda understand for safety reasons but while rolling with the blues and even purples I noticed some easy toe holds/ heel hooks they offer up while in guard. Is it just me who thinks completely ignoring the possibility of leg locks is rather ridiculous or do you think it should wait until higher levels?

Array

School
    10th Planet Fort Lauderdale Hotbox/MGJJ Purple Belt/10P Miami
    We allow all submissions at my gym. Definitely varies from place to place. I love leg locks. I think to be truly studious of jiu jitsu, you must be aware of ALL submissions, defensively and offensively.

Array

School
    10th Planet Hamburg/ Ronin
    i think it was denny when he was recently on on the mat radio was talking about how ridiculous it is that there are blackbelts that cant defend heel hooks and shit like that. i think while absolute beginners shouldnt do them.they should be taught qquite early on and made a part fo the game.

Array

School
    10th Planet HQ
    We allow all leg locks at HQ. We rarely ever have injuries due to leg attacks, in fact I can't remember off the top of my head an injury at hq caused by a heel hook or reaping
    Follow me on Instagram @eddiebravo10p

SUBSCRIBE to my videos youtube.com/twistereddie

Array

School
    "Oil Slix" shirtless BJJ Club
    It's incredible how many gym instructors will tell you to "watch the leg locks." I think it's lazy to just yell at the Sambo guy instead of teaching students to defend legs at the very least, but that's just me.