Array

School
    Hoy's Martial Arts Pedro Sauer Ohio

New to 10th Planet/Grappling!

Greetings everyone,

My name is Vincent Viglione and I am just beginning what is assuredly going to be a long term love affair with 10th Planet. Presently, I train in Krav Maga at Fight Fit in Cleveland, Ohio. I have mostly been doing it for the practical aspects (weapons defense, multiple assailants, etc.) and now that I feel I have a decent grasp on striking and defense, I am getting into grappling.

I have only been studying/training BJJ for about 3 months and somewhat unfortunately, it has not been as pure or official as I would prefer. I have been rolling with a friend of mine who is mostly a Muay Thai practitioner but he is a solid white belt in traditional BJJ. Because of my background of Krav, I was able to pick up the basics pretty quickly. I also developed a serious interest in it extremely quickly so I had and still am in that phase where I just scour the internet for as much information on grappling as I possibly can. In doing so, I found 10th Planet and I knew I found what I wanted to learn and many years from now, master. I am 6' 6" and 180 lbs at 22 years of age and I am in rather good physical shape. I have always worked on my flexibility so it was natural that I found the rubber guard to be an effective strategy for me to employ. My training partner and I started to host grappling tournaments every Sunday at his homemade mat and we film all of the matches so that we can review and learn from our rolls. One of our regulars uploads them to Youtube and I catalogue them in a simple blog:http://www.submissiongrappling.blogspot.com/. Most of the people that participate are completely green and in many videos it is literally their first time ever rolling with someone, so get ready for some janky technique, heh.