Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Array

School
    10th Planet Fort Lauderdale Hotbox!

Looking for Stand-Up Comedy Tips Please

Hey guys, as many of you know, I'm currently in my second year of law school and getting scary close to actually having to get in a court room and litigate. The problem is, I'm only 24 and have quite a fear of public speaking. So I figured, the best way to beat my fear is to get in front of a crowd and do some stand-up comedy. It's fun and I like to think I'm funny, certainly clever, and I have some decent material written already (i think). So my next step is to find some open mic nights, somewhere I can get on stage for 30 seconds to 5 minutes and try stuff out. Just thinking about it makes me start to sweat haha oh man. So anyway, since we've got a lot of Rogan fans on here, and I believe Joe has mentioned that Eddie has attempted stand-up before, I was wondering if anyone has any tips for me, a completely new beginner to stand-up. I have literally never been in front of a live audience yet. Thanks in advance 10th Planeteers! Hopefully one day I can return the favor by making you laugh!

Array

School
    Rōnin
    just getting comfortable is a big thing be yourself (if you like to swear be dirty as hell) thats what i think anyway as a fan of comedy.

Array

School
    Riverside Submission
    where are you at? is there a local comedy club? open mics are cool but now they are usually new showcases and you have to take a class first. And like sly said...if you want to be blue (dirty) go all out...don't half ass it. If your talking about 5 minutes you can't be too cereberal, the setup will take too long. My suggestion would be go to a comedy club and by some of the comedians there a drink and shoot the shit with them. It's a fraternity, I did some amateur hour stuff and got a lot of advice from comedians. I also learned that the mess is hard and you can't have an ego, because sometimes the audience will NOT get you.

Array

School